Scissett CE Academy

Our Governing Body

Our school is controlled by its own Governing Body, comprising a teacher representative, two parent representative, representatives of Kirklees, Denby Dale Parish Council and foundation Governors who are appointed by the church.

The present Chair of Governors is Miss G. Hamer. All parents are free to bring any important matters to the attention of the governing body and should do so through their parent representative.

Please see below for the latest list of school governors:


Name Governor Type Appointed by Term start Term end Specific Responsibility
Gillian Hamer (Chair) Foundation Diocese Foundation / Trust 15/10/2016 31/08/2022

 Safeguarding / LAC / Equality and Well Being

Adedoyin Adegoroye

(Vice Chair)

Foundation Diocese Foundation / Sponsor members 23/02/2013 26/02/2025 Child Protection and Safeguarding, Website Compliance
Bart Cunningham Head Teacher Ex-officio by virtue of office of headteacher 01/09/2021  



Charlotte Goodall


Elected by school staff





Sarah Farrimond Foundation Priest in charge


Ex-officio Foundation Governor  by virtue of the office they hold

01/03/2018 30/04/2022


Alison Baskeyfield


Nominated by other body and appointed by GB  08/10/2019 08/10/2023



Heather Wade Foundation PCC Foundation / Trust 11/12/2019 11/12/2023


Early Years

Kelly Harman Parent Elected by parents 11/12/2019 11/12/2023



Hayley Parkes Parent Elected by parents 05/07/2021 04/07/2025



Ally Jewitt

Foundation PCC Foundation / Sponsor members





Class Governors

Reception - Heather Wade

Year 1 - Hayley Parkes

Year 2 - Doyin Adegoroye

Year 3 - Kelly Harman

Year 4 - Alison Baskeyfield

Year 5 - Gillian Hamer

Governor Training responsibilities - Kirsty Firth




Governor Attendance 2021 - 22

Below is a summary of the Governing body meetings attended. For a full register of each meeting please follow the links below





Position 27th September 24th November 23rd March 6th July
Type of meeting   Zoom Zoom    
Gillian Hamer Chair Y Y    
Doyin Adegoroye Vice Chair Y Y    
Bart Cunningham Head Teacher Y Y    
Charlotte Goodall   Y Y    
Sarah Farrimond   N Y    
Alison Baskeyfield   Y Y    
Heather Wade   Apologies Y    
Kelly Wood   Y Y    
Hayley Parkes   Apologies Y    
 Ally Jewitt          
Nigel Codling Deputy Head Y Y    
Roxy Krishnarao  Minute Clerk Y N/A    
Ms E Kilner Minute Clerk   Y    


Governor attendance summary 2020-21

Please follow the links below to see the full registers:

Full Governing Body Meetings

Standard and Effectiveness committee meetings

Finance committee meetings

Admissions committee meetings


Meeting Minutes

The minutes from our full governing body meetings can be found below

September 2021

July 2021

March 2021

November 2020

September 2020


Declaration of Business Interest Information
In accordance with current legislation,  all Governors of Scissett CE Academy as named above have not declared any business interest that would conflict with the business of the school





Please follow this link for the Learning Accord Multi Academy Trust scheme of delegation